All 61 Ohio lawmakers who supported last year’s transportation investment measure and ran for reelection won their April 28 primary and now move to the Nov. 3 general election, according to analysis of the returns by the American Road & Transportation Builders Association Transportation Investment Advocacy Center (ARTBA-TIAC).

Seven lawmakers overcame opposition to win their primary, while 54 others who voted to raise state gas taxes faced no opposition. Their success rate is consistent with the results of thousands of races ARTBA-TIAC has tracked since 2013: supporting an increase in the gas tax to fund transportation investment seldom hurts state politicians. Twenty-one lawmakers who voted against the 2019 bill also advanced to the general election.

Primary contests have particular relevance when monitoring whether transportation investment supporters are drawing in-party opposition. ARTBA-TIAC is tracking more than 300 state lawmakers in three states through the primaries and the Nov. 3 General Election.

An all-new interactive dashboard that filters results by state, party, year and bill vote is available at the Center’s flagship website:

Of the Ohio lawmakers who supported the 2019 state gas tax increase and ran for reelection:

• 35 Republican legislators supported the tax and ran for reelection, with 34 advancing unopposed and one overcoming a challenger. Thirteen Republican lawmakers voted against the measure and ran for reelection, with three facing opponents and advancing to November.

• 26 Democratic legislators supported the tax and for reelection, with 20 advancing unopposed and six overcoming challengers. The eight Democratic lawmakers who voted against the measure and ran for reelection also advanced, with one facing a challenger.

• 17 additional Ohio state lawmakers are not up for reelection until 2022.

Primaries in Alabama and Arkansas earlier in the year yielded similar results, with 99 percent of 162 lawmakers who supported transportation investment measures and seeking reelection advancing on to the general election.

ARTBA-TIAC has tracked over 3,300 state lawmakers who voted to increase the gas tax since 2013. Ninety-two percent of lawmakers who voted for a gas tax and stood for reelection were returned to the statehouse by voters, the same percentage as lawmakers who voted against a gas tax increase.

Join ARTBA-TIAC after the Nov. 3 General Election for an in-depth analysis of total reelection rates from 2013 through 2020.